Sustainable Agriculture Research Cluster

Funding Body University of Otago
Total Contract Value $20,000
Start Date January 2007
End Date December 2009
Principal Investigators Professor Hugh Campbell, Tom Brooking
Staff Involved Professor Henrik Moller, Dr. Julia Haggerty

Brief Abstract

The Division of Humanities provides funding for clusters of research to support ongoing activities that might otherwise not receive departmental funding and support. The Sustainable Agriculture Cluster originally formed around a post-doctoral fellowship awarded to Dr. Julia Haggerty. The fellowship was fully funded by the Division of Humanities for three years to anchor research efforts in particular cluster areas.

At that time, the cluster brought together social scientific research on sustainable agriculture at CSAFE with the environmental history work of Tom Brooking. Julia used this funding to establish research activities in Southland (whitebaiting and pastoral farming) and to establish the Sustainable Agriculture Cluster seminar series (which still runs today).